Our Team

Mrs Sara Friend

Deputy Head Teacher

All About Me

Name: Sara Friend

Role: Class teacher, Deputy Head, KS1 lead, Music lead

My Favourite Things:

Food: I am a fan of chocolate though I am lactose intolerant so it has to be dairy free. I am very fortunate that my husband is an excellent cook and I particularly enjoy his lamb curry, homemade burgers and puff pastry pies. 

Drink: I often make a healthy smoothie for my breakfast on the weekend. I don't drink fizzy drinks, tea or coffee but I am often seen with a bottle of water in my hand.

Colour: I love bright bold colours and patterns. My favourite colour is pink but red is definitely my second favourite.

Animal: I am allergic to animal fur / dander but I love hamsters, guinea pigs and rabbits. I always smile when I spot squirrels out and about in the wild.

Pets: Unfortunately I am allergic to most pets but I am considering getting stick insects or a reptile for my son when he is a little older. 

Book: I enjoy reading books with my son and our favourite book is 'The Snail and the Whale' by Julia Donaldson. We read at least one book every night before bath time. As a grown up I also enjoy books by Jeffery Archer and Stephen King but I also enjoy reading autobiographies.

My Hobbies:

I spend a lot of my free time with my young son, taking trips out to local country parks, the library, the farm, the cinema, museums, soft play centres and sometimes special days out to the zoo or the theatre. I have a strong interest in music and can play the piano, though I do have a piano at home at the moment. If I have spare time, I do enjoy entering competitions on the computer and have won some brilliant prizes including holidays. I am also a film fan and love watching movies, particularly action, animation, superhero films and musicals.

My Family:

I live with my Welsh husband Michael who I met at university in Cardiff back in 2001. We have a son Ethan who is nearly 4 years old. We live in Northampton and do try to visit his grandparents when we get a chance, who live in Oxford, Gloucester and even Wales.